Pretoria » City Info » Visa Requirements

What is a Visa?

Visa is a legal document allocated by the government that provides the authority to a person for entry into a country other than his homeland country for a specific time. It is considered a valid document for crossing the borderline of a foreign country. However, the actual entry in any country depends on the permission of immigration officers.

Visa for South Africa

Like other countries, South Africa has the right to decide whom it should allow entry in its territory. Visitors must obtain a visa to enter South Africa unless they belong to a visa-exempt country. However, the actual entry depends on the decision of immigration officers.

Passport holders of the following countries can enter South Africa without a visa. They can stay up to 90 days, with some conditions.

Czech RepublicDenmarkEcuador
NamibiaNetherlandsNew Zealand
Saint Vincent & the Grenadines San MarinoSão Tomé & Príncipe
Saudi ArabiaSeychellesSingapore
TanzaniaTrinidad & TobagoTunisia
United Arab EmiratesUnited KingdomUnited States

South Africa issues visas of the following types:

  • Tourism or visits to family or friends
  • Medical treatment
  • Working in the entertainment industry
  • Attending a conference
  • Treaty conditions compliance
  • Maritime crew
  • Cultural, economic and social exchange programmes
  • Transit

Temporary residence visas issued by South Africa are:

  • Business visas
  • Work visas
  • Critical skills work visa
  • Intra-company Transfer Work visa
  • Corporate visas
  • Study visas
  • Exchange visas
  • Retired persons' visa
  • Relatives' visa
  • Medical Treatment visa

Please note: The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information or visit the Department of Home Affairs, South Africa.