Pretoria » City Info

Pretoria, the administrative capital of South Africa, is amongst the three capital cities of the country. It is popularly known as the Jacaranda City because several Jacaranda trees are planted along streets, gardens, and parks. It is situated in the northern part of Gauteng Province as well, close to Johannesburg.

The city was initially known as Pretoria Philadelphia ("Pretoria of brotherly love"). The city was also known as Pax Praetoriana. Many corporate offices, small businesses, shops and government departments are located in the heart of the city rather than the CBD (Central Business District) of Pretoria.

The city is located (approx. 50km) north of Johannesburg in the northeast region of South Africa. It has an area of about 1, and is located at the height of 1,350m above sea level. The hills of the Magaliesberg range surround the city along with a warm, protected and fertile valley.

Pretoria is densely populated by the largest white ethnic group known as the Afrikaners in the entire African continent. The city is also known for its apartheid days. It has diverse cultural influences that are reflected in its architecture. Its culture varies from British Colonial Architecture to Art Deco.

The Pretoria National Botanical Garden is one of the most famous botanical gardens in South Africa. The city has large green suburbs and lush surroundings. Several small parks and gardens offer an enchanting atmosphere to the city. It is home to the Austin Roberts Bird Sanctuary as well the National Zoological Gardens of South Africa.

CountrySouth Africa
Province Gauteng
Metropolitan MunicipalityCity of Tshwane
Total Area6985.54km² (2697.46sq.mi.)
Elevation1,339m (4,393 ft)
Population (City)2,472,612 (2018)
Density of Population3,600/km² (9,300/sq.mi.)
Time ZoneSAST (UTC+2)
Area code(s)012